Roger and Ales.

Meet Ales

Main Content

Vision Mate Volunteer – Charlottetown, PEI

Ales Janosik had never known someone who is blind, but now he can’t imagine life without his good friend, Roger. Since 2014, Ales has been a Vision Mate volunteer to Roger – a Charlottetown man who is blind.

The pair go for walks together every week, always stopping into Tim Hortons for a chat and a laugh over cups of hot chocolate. They run errands, including getting groceries or going to the bank. Roger will sometimes ask Ales to help him on the computer, like checking his Facebook or email. 

CNIB Vision Mate program matches sighted volunteers with people who are blind or partially sighted, to help with activities like reading, organizing things around the home, or errands, outings or social visits.

Above all else, Ales and Roger enjoy each other’s camaraderie. The pair share similar senses of humour and will often joke with each other.

“It’s been great having our friendship develop over time,” says Ales. “At this point, being a Vision Mate is something I can’t imagine not doing.”

Originally from the Czech Republic, Ales now lives in Charlottetown where he’s a stay-at-home dad to two boys – three years and 17 months of age – and he’s made his hobby of wood carving into a small business.

Balancing fatherhood with his busy schedule can sometimes be a challenge, but Ales always finds a solution. When Ales can’t find a babysitter, he’ll bring his sons with him on his and Roger’s outings.

“Ales is a prime example of what we look for in our volunteers: dedication, exceptional service and consistent, selfless giving of time and effort to improve the quality of life for someone with sight loss,” says Rachel Kitson, foundation programs lead for CNIB Prince Edward Island.

Ales enjoys knowing that his volunteer efforts are directly helping somebody in his community. He encourages others to volunteer, as there are other Islanders with sight loss waiting to be matched with a Vision Mate volunteer.

If Ales’ story inspires you to consider volunteering for your local CNIB Foundation, fill out the application form below.

Volunteer Today!

Join us and change what it is to be blind through innovative programs and powerful advocacy that enable Canadians impacted by blindness to live the lives they choose.

hand holding a clock

Ales Janosik, à droite, se tenant près de son ami Roger

Rencontrer Ales

Contenu principal

Bénévole Vision Amitié – Charlottetown, Î.-P.-É.

Ales Janosik n'avait jamais rencontré une personne aveugle avant, mais maintenant il ne peut pas imaginer la vie sans ami, Roger. Depuis 2014, Ales est bénévole Vision Amitié jumelé à Roger, un homme aveugle de Charlottetown.

Ils vont se promener tous les deux une fois par semaine, s'arrêtent chez Tim Hortons pour bavarder et rire autour d'une tasse de chocolat chaud. Ils font des courses à l'épicerie ou à la banque. Roger demande parfois à Ales de l'aider avec son ordinateur, par exemple pour consulter son compte Facebook ou ses courriels.

Le Programme Vision Amitié d'INCA jumelle des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision avec des bénévoles voyants qui les aident à s'occuper de leurs activités quotidiennes comme la lecture, la gestion domestique, les courses, les sorties et les visites amicales.   

Ales et Roger apprécient avant tout le sentiment de camaraderie qu'ils ressentent l'un pour l'autre. Ils ont le même sens de l'humour et se font mutuellement des blagues.

« C'est formidable de voir comment notre amitié s'est développée au fil du temps », déclare Ales. « Maintenant, je ne pas imaginer ma vie si je n'étais pas bénévole Vision Amitié ». 

Originaire de la République tchèque, Ales vit désormais à Charlottetown, où il est le père au foyer de deux fils âgés de trois ans et 17 mois. De plus, il a transformé son passe-temps de sculpteur sur bois en petite entreprise.

Il est parfois difficile de trouver le bon équilibre entre la vie familiale et un emploi du temps chargé, mais Ales a toujours une solution. S'il n'a pas de gardienne, il emmène ses fils avec lui lors de ses sorties avec Roger.

« Ales est exactement le type de personne que nous recherchons pour être bénévole. Il est un exemple à suivre pour son dévouement, la qualité exceptionnelle de ses services et la somme considérable de temps et d'énergie qu'il consacre de manière systématique et désintéressée pour améliorer la vie d'une personne vivant avec une perte de vision », déclare  Rachel Kitson, chef de programme de la Fondation INCA de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Ales est heureux de savoir que les efforts qu'il consacre au bénévolat permet d'aider une personne de sa communauté. Il encourage d'autres personnes à faire la même chose, car des habitants de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard vivant avec une perte de vision attendent d'être jumelés à un bénévole Vision Amitié.

Si le récit d'Ales vous incite à envisager de faire du bénévolat pour la Fondation INCA de votre région, consultez le site Web inca.ca pour explorer les possibilités offertes dans votre région.

GR - Lead Generation Form

Lead generation form image

Help us Break Barriers

Join our community now and become part of a passionate group of people working to create a more inclusive Canada and a bolder future for everyone with sight loss.

The CNIB Foundation will send you updates on major campaigns and announcements, along with our community e-newsletter, Insight. We respect your privacy and will never share your information with third parties. View our privacy policy.