A group of four people sit at a table and engage in lively conversation.

Beyond Vision Loss (BVL) - Lindsay

Start Date
End Date
Time range
-
Event Type
Peer Support Programs
Location

United Way for the City of Kawartha Lakes
50 Mary St West
Lindsay ON K9V 2N6
Canada

It's not unusual to feel depressed, angry or alone when experiencing a loss of sight. Over time these feelings can turn to confidence, independence, and joy as old skills are rediscovered and new skills are developed.

Wherever you may be in your journey, meeting people facing similar challenges and experiences can be very exciting and reassuring. The Beyond Vision Loss group brings together people with sight loss from all walks of life to connect through their shared experiences and stories. 

Family members and friends of people with sight loss can also attend these to learn about their loved one’s eye condition, gain new insight on living with sight loss, and get the skills to help in effective and meaningful ways. 

The group meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month. 

Registration required. To register for this program, please contact Caitlin Bruce, Program Lead, Peer Support and Youth Empowerment at 613-542-4975 ext. 5064, or email Caitlin.Bruce@cnib.ca. 

Upcoming Events

Un groupe de quatre personnes s’assied à une table et s’engage dans une conversation animée.

Beyond Vision Loss (BVL) - Lindsay

Start Date
End Date
Durée
-
Type d’événement
Groupes d’entraide
Lieu

United Way for the City of Kawartha Lakes
50 Mary St West
Lindsay ON K9V 2N6
Canada

Il n’est pas rare que les personnes vivant avec une perte de vision se sentent déprimées ou éprouvent un sentiment de colère ou de solitude. Au fil du temps, ces sentiments peuvent se transformer pour faire place à la confiance en soi, l'autonomie et la joie alors qu'on redécouvre ses compétences et qu'on en acquiert de nouvelles.

Peu importe où vous vous trouviez dans votre cheminement, il peut être intéressant et rassurant de rencontrer d'autres personnes qui sont aux prises avec des défis similaires et qui vivent des expériences semblables. Le groupe Au-delà de la perte de vision réunit des personnes vivant avec une perte de vision et issus de tous les milieux afin de partager leurs expériences et leur vécu.

Les membres de la famille et les amis des personnes ayant perdu la vue peuvent également y participer pour en apprendre davantage sur la maladie oculaire de l'être cher, et pour acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur la manière de vivre avec une perte de vision, ainsi que les compétences nécessaires pour savoir comment aider de façon efficace et significative.

Inscription requise. Pour vous inscrire à ce programme, veuillez contacter Caitlin Bruce, chef du programme, Groupe d’entraide et Programme jeunesse en composant le  613 542-4975, poste 5064 ou en faisant parvenir un courriel à Caitlin.Bruce@cnib.ca. 

Calendrier