a boat sails on the lake.

Lake Joseph history

Main Content

Enriching lives and making memories since 1956. 

  • 1956-1959 – The CNIB Lake Joseph Centre (Lake Joe) started off as a summer camp providing a fun outdoor experience and social outlet for people with sight loss. Before finding its permanent home, the camp was on a rented site in Ancaster, ON for three weeks of the summer. 
  • 1960 – After just three years, Lake Joe outgrew the rented site and the CNIB, the Lions Family of Ontario and the Canadian Council of the Blind purchased a small piece of paradise on Lake Joseph in Muskoka.
  • 1961 – The CNIB Lake Joseph Centre opened in Muskoka.
  • 2002 – Lake Joe closed for one season for massive renovations. Since then, the main lodge (2003), the wellness centre (2004), six barrier-free guest cabins (2007) and the welcome centre (2008) have been renovated.
  • 2011 – Due to a generous contribution from PCL Construction, new staff quarters were built, resulting in additional space for people impacted by blindness to experience Lake Joe.